Picture

The Bible Challenge Reflection

Diocese of Southeast Florida

Day 176

Esther 4-6; Psalm 143; 2 Corinthians 2

 

In life, we never know the cards we’ll be dealt. Through life I have met folks who, for no admirably apparent reason, climb to the “top” of the social and professional ladders. I have also met folks who, like me, strive to be good parents, and for us clergy, good pastors to our parish. Often we find ourselves frustrated by those we love and serve. Life at times seems unfair. I have asked of God where is my reward for attempting to be a loving husband, father and a faithful pastor.

 

Haman must have been thinking similar thoughts about fairness, effort and rewards just before he was hung from the gallows (I cheated and read through Chapter 7 because the plot was so intense). This twist of fate came after Haman’s pride was hurt by Mor’decai’s refusal to pay homage to his superior rank. In retribution, Haman convinced King Ahasu-e’rus to pillage and to kill the Jews in his outlying territories. Haman was soon to have Mor’decai killed as well.

 

The plot thickens. Beautiful Queen Esther (a Jewess) steps powerfully onto the scene. She chooses to intervene for her uncle. Through her crafty manipulation of the king (with the help of some Divine intervention) Mor’decai is elevated for saving the king’s life where heretofore he was not honored for his “memorable” deed. Of course, Haman is devastated by the king’s decision; he wanted the honor and recognition going instead to Mor’decai! Things would only get much worse for Haman the next day.

 

In our story who won the day? Esther! And what gave her that opportunity? Beauty! She caught the king’s eye and was favored above all the other virgins. (I just love the Old Testament). Using today’s standards of female beauty, I wonder if a less attractive, overweight woman, despite having other superior qualities, would have won the day? This question may have gone through the minds of the virgins who were in contention to become queen. Life just doesn’t seem fair at times, does it?

 

What is an important message in our reading from Esther? God was accomplishing Godly purposes using Esther as a vessel to combat the forces of Darkness. Although God used Esther’s beauty to entice the king’s favor it was her willfulness to accomplish God’s plan that eventually saved Mor’decai. For God, it is not the outward appearance that is important, but the surrender of our hearts to do His will.

 

So, why then was Paul so upset in 2 Corinthians 2? Paul loved the Christian community in Corinth. And, clearly he was one of God’s human vessels: He was a chief Apostle, a Bishop! He was one of the great leaders of the early Christian church.  But, after his visit to Corinth and his subsequent letter (1 Corinthians), Paul’s relationship with the Corinthians fell upon most difficult times. He was attempting to accomplish with them what he believed God was calling them to be and to do. Yet, for the best of intentions… the members of his community became offended, and a rupture occurred. He was personally crushed by this development. He sent a second letter by way of Titus to attempt to breach the gap. This letter which we don’t have today must have accomplished its purpose. Thanks be to God, the Holy Spirit built bridges of reconciliation. And Paul, in Second Corinthians, exclaimed his relief and gratitude.

 

Does Paul’s story and even that of Mahan or Esther resonate with you as you relate them to your family, parish, social groups or other associations? Like Paul, feelings of deflation sometimes sweep over me when I attempt to give my all only to find that my all is not good enough for those to whom I have given it. What am I to do? I despair and thrust my frustrations at God, fully desirous that my needs be met.

 

Before you continue reading this reflection, please stop and turn to the 143rd Psalm. Thoughtfully re- read it. Did you do it? OK. The Psalmist speaks directly to my heart. He, through experience, shares the perennial frustration of all who seek God and His will and strive to accomplish it despite apparent injustice. “Deliver me, O Lord, from my enemies! I have fled to thee for refuge! Teach me to do thy will, for thou art my God!!!!!”9-10

 

I reflect, “Who is my greatest enemy? Who keeps me from accomplishing the purposes of God? And I discover, it’s not those in my family who don’t agree with me. It is also not those in my parish who resists and rebel as I struggle to move them forward into Christ. It’s not ‘Life’s Cards’ that deals a better hand for others. The greatest enemy is me.” Only I can stand between God and what God is calling me to accomplish for God’s Kingdom. No one else can stand between God and me. My own self-centered pride leads to personal anxiety and to retreat and away from a loving and purpose-filled relationship with God.

 

So, although life may not always seem fair from our perspective, it is the life we have. Only you and only I can choose with the Psalmist to acknowledge in our hearts and to live through our lives, “Teach me to do thy will, for thou art my God!”10.

 

The Reverend Bernard J. Pecaro

St. Martin, Pompano Beach

 


nancy carlson
7/10/2013 10:08:14 pm

Thank you.....I enjoyed your reply. I do need to trust and do God's will but it is difficult at times. I read and re-read Psalm 143.thank you.
The Bible challenge is good for me but you and other priests comments are the best and put it in lauguage to better understand Thank you for taking the time for your reflections.
Nancy Carlson

Reply
Cris Barnes
9/16/2013 06:17:02 am

I'm a tad behind in my readings and making a determined effort to catchup prior to returning for November Bible study classes. I look so forward to reading the daily reflections, essential to funding my interpretations. And, I find your intimate/personal revelations, a priestly/human element, especially helpful in reminding us that ALL humankind, regardless of status, are simply 'human' after all. Thank you for your 'heart' in these matters.

Reply



Leave a Reply.