Picture
Friday, June 21, 2013
Day 166 – Ezra 7-9, Psalm 135, I Corinthians 10
Marty Zlatic


In the reading from I Corinthians 10 today, Paul cautions his audience about what happened to our ancestors in the wilderness.  As in the chapters from Ezra today, many had fallen away from the commands of God, and only a remnant remained in God's grace.  Paul states that God's chosen were under the cloud of God's protection, they had all been delivered by God, and they all ate the spiritual food and drink that God gave them.  Yet, most of them "were struck down in the wilderness (1 Cor 10: 5b)."

Here in the Church we live similarly in relationship with God today, in some sense still under the cloud, having been delivered by baptism, and we too eat of the spiritual food and drink God gives.  The cautionary tone of impending disaster makes me pay attention to the reasons Paul gives for the demise of those who came before us.  Some were struck down because of idolatry (verse 7).  I think I'm okay on that one.  Some were struck down because of sexual immorality (verse 8).  I think I've got that one under control.  Some met their ruin by putting Christ to the test (verse 9).  I don't think I've done that in a long time. 

So right when I think I'm in the safe zone, Paul adds another one:  others were "destroyed by the destroyer" -- why?  for COMPLAINING!  Now I've got to be a little more than concerned about my situation.  If complaining is on the same level as idolatry, sexual immorality, and putting Christ to the test, I think I'd better start working on my gratitude.

It is so easy for me to complain to God about the demands, difficulties, and distractions that disrupt, but perhaps what Paul is telling us is that especially those of us who are God's chosen, who are under the cloud of his protection, all need a dose of today's Psalm 135:  "Praise the Lord. Praise the name of the Lord; give praise, O servants of the Lord, you that stand in the house of the Lord, in the courts of the house of our God" (Psalm 135: 1-2). 

On this the longest day of the year, as we continue in this long stretch of green vestment Sundays after Pentecost, it can be easy for us to get into a rut of complaining and negativity.  As one of my favorite theologians, Kermit the Frog, states, "It's not easy being green."  Perhaps the opportunity before us in this long stretch of summer weeks is an opportunity to concentrate on gratitude for all God's gifts to us.

With gratitude for all of you,

Marty Zlatic





Leave a Reply.