Picture
BIBLE CHALLENGE
Day 144

I Chronicles 16-18; Psalm 119:33-72; Romans 7

David sings eloquent praises to the Lord and wants to build a magnificent home for the Ark of the Covenant. When that idea is rejected by God, David makes do with songs of praise, “O give thanks to the Lord, call on his name, make known his deeds among the peoples. Sing to him, sing praises to him, tell all of his wonderful works.” (I Chronicles 16:8-9)

The psalmist in fear and distress cries out seeking guidance from God and promising obedience in return, “Teach me O Lord, the way of your statues, and I will observe it to the end.” (Psalm 119:33-34).

Paul hits the nail on the head when he writes to the Romans, “So then, with my mind I am a slave to the law of God, but with my flesh I am a slave to the law of sin.” (Romans 7:25) Paul understands that more than praise and promises are needed.

It’s hard not to keep nodding our heads in continual affirmation as Paul, time after time, in his Letter to the Romans pounds home the painful message of our human shortcomings. How true the statement, “I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. Now if I do what I do not want, I agree that the law is good. But in fact it is no longer I that do it, but the sin that dwells in me…Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I that do it, but sin that dwells within me.” (Romans 7:15-20)

We strive to build a life that is Christ-centered. We spend a fair amount of time singing praises to the Lord, in one way or another. We follow the rules and regulations of society, to the best of our ability.

Yet, Paul’s reality check, “So then, with my mind I am a slave to the law of God, but with my flesh I am a slave to the law of sin” remains the same, age after age.

I have found that only the discipline of daily prayer and continual conversation with God brings me back into right relationship with my Savior. I need to stay engaged with Father, Son and Holy Spirit. They are my strength – my guide – my point of reference.

How do you best counter the human struggles that Paul so eloquently describes?

The Rev. Clelia P. Garrity, St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Delray Beach, FL





Leave a Reply.