Picture
Bible Blog: A Time to Dance

Ezekiel 41-42; Psalm 89:1-18; Rev. 12

Going to bed at 6:30 p.m. Mauritius time, I crashed, still affected by jet-lag and a twelve hour time difference from our departure airport in the United States. After 7 ½ hours of sleep, I fully awoke at 2:00 a.m. Internet wasn’t working and I laid in bed, wondering what to do. The almost full moon was still bright, shining upon the coconut palm outside my window. A soft breeze whispered early morning quietness and a light rain trickled from heaven.

“Listen in the Silence.” These words came to my mind and I was reminded of a song that a friend in Mauritius wrote just a few weeks before. So, I listened, and God poured an idea from heaven. A musical was born through the darkness.

Not wanting to interrupt the silence, I floundered to my desk in the dark, grabbing a piece of paper and a pen. Not wanting to interrupt what God was saying, I wrote in the darkness as I sat in bed, looking at the stars outside my window. A whole storyline of Miaraka: A Time to Dance flooded my brain. I sat mystified, awestruck that all these songs, written by my friend and I, tied together to bring a story of hope and redemption. Written in dedication to the women of Madagascar, Miaraka: A Time to Dance is a modern day musical of Mary Magdalene, presenting the love of Jesus and how God loves her back to life.

Today’s readings remind us of the importance of song. “I will sing of the Lord’s great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations. I will declare that your love stands firm forever, that you established your faithfulness in heaven itself.”  Let us be faithful in proclaiming God’s message through song, celebrating God and spreading joy. With God, life is truly, a time to dance.





Leave a Reply.