Picture
Bible Challenge Day 106
Diocese of SE Florida
Reflection


O’ but I could live my faith with the immediacy of the Holy Spirit’s power as did the Apostles! What certain joy would it give to my heart and an unwavering purpose for my life! Come, Holy Spirit! Come!

Which one of us would not sell all that we have and give the money away to posses this priceless Gift of God? Are you raising your hands? Are you saying, “Yes Lord, send me?” Or, “Come Holy Spirit, I surrender all?”

But, on second thought….

More often than not, I find my heart less surrendered to God’s Holy Spirit and purpose for my life and more focused on, and in concert with, the attitudes of Nabal (1Samuel 25-27), Saul, (1 Samuel 25-27), and even Sapphira and her husband Ananias (Acts 5 ). Each of these persons had serious doubts about surrendering their life to the will of God and God’s purposes for their living. For Nabal, it was self-centered stubbornness. Saul’s lack of faith in the” Living God” caused his pride and need for power. As well, for Sapphira and Ananias, it was their deficiency of faith which led to their lack of integrity and cowardice. Each of these human attitudes and emotions are born from fear. Fear is the wicked step-child of faithlessness in a loving God who has and continues to sacrifice all for us.

 So, I have concluded, that I am a partner with those who have gone before and am unable to surrender my “All” to God and so receive the abundance of Grace through the Holy Spirit. But, thanks be to God in Jesus, God can and will accomplish this. It’s all about Grace.

Yet, it is also about our willfulness and the dying to self-centeredness. In the (spiritual) end it is about surrender. May I share a piece of my story in this regard? 

Ever since the beginning of my ordained ministry, and even before as a young adult, I gave my life to Jesus Christ and His Church. In so giving, it was my imperative to offer all for Christ. In His Name I accomplished ministry program after ministry program. Each parish I served I served well, building up the ministry of God’s church. When I became Rector of St. Martin I knew she would become a diamond within our diocese because I was now experienced and poised to do great things for Jesus. I created and again threw ministry program after ministry program at our parish family. Now, after 15 years of ministry at St. Martin and 29 years of ordained ministry, I have concluded that I missed the “Spiritual Boat” of God’s call.  

How so? I share this insight to help with your individual, and our corporate growth, in Grace, to build up the Body of Jesus Christ within our own ministries. 

What it took for me, and I offer to you, is the willful reception of God’s Holy Spirit. First, this takes a humble affirmation that we are unable to do God’s work on our own. Second, it takes a humble submission to allowing the Holy Spirit to forgive us of our sins and find a holy place of lodging within our hearts… Third, it takes the courage to die to our self-centered needs and give all to Jesus. And, finally… stop doing for Jesus and His Church! Discover where the Holy Spirit is at work around you and your parish and join God. Stop doing for God!  Do you grasp the theological difference between doing good works for God as opposed to joining with God in a work God is already doing ? Finally in this spiritual process, experience the power of His Holy Spirit working through you. No greater Joy, Peace or Power in living will we ever know!

Yes, Holy Spirit Come!!


Happy Birthday Followers of Jesus Christ!

Fr. Bernie
St. Martin, Pompano Beach





Leave a Reply.