Picture
I remember so many years ago, when my oldest daughter Corbi was about 3 or 4 years old and she decided after watching me shave, that she wanted to do it. So I took the opportunity for her to follow my example. Therefore, I gave her a razor, with the plastic part still intact over the razor blade so she wouldn’t cut herself.

Then I asked her to follow my lead. First, we wet our faces with water, then we both put the shaving cream on, then we both grab our razors and then began to shave, every so often rinsing our razors with water. Once we finished, we rinsed our faces and dried them. I still remember her smiling and glancing over at me every so often when she was shaving. She was so excited that she could do what her father was doing. She wanted to follow my example. My heart just melted. Corbi was so eager to want to learn from her daddy and follow his example.

This reminds me of one of our passages today from 1 Timothy 4. Paul, a spiritual father, is writing to his spiritual son, Timothy about the importance of following his example. Paul tells Timothy about some important biblical truths in which he is to pass on to others. First, whatever God has created is good (v4). Secondly, godliness has value for all things (v8). Thirdly, we put our hope in the living God who is the savior of all men (v10). Fourthly, be an example for all believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity (v12). Fifthly, devote yourself to public reading or scripture (v13). Sixthly, do not neglect your spiritual gift (v14).

Paul summarizes this by saying watch your life and doctrine closely……..because you will save both yourself and your hearers (v16).

Paul saw that it was so important to pass these truths on that he wrote a letter to Timothy. The church has seen it fit to be part of the canon since the patristic times. We as the body of Christ need to take the lead and follow Paul’s lead and pass on biblical truths to others. When was the last time you passed on spiritual truths to your children and grandchildren?





Leave a Reply.