Picture
Tuesday, February 5, 2013
Day 30 – Exodus 25-27, Psalm 25, Matthew 26                           

In the words of Psalm 25 for today, the Psalmist petitions God, "Make me to know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths."  To answer that petition for the people of the Exodus, God provides construction requirements so specific for the building of the Ark of the Covenant that it takes three whole chapters of Exodus (25-27) to recount all the specifics  (almost as if the section should conclude:  "and thus God justified the need for a versatile junior warden in their midst...)

Were I to ask God to "make known to me your ways" today, perhaps the personalized instructions for me would be to build my inner character, which requirements could come from some imagining with Matthew 26 today.  If I read and imagine myself in this story of Matthew 26:

·         Am I the woman with the oil or the envious disciples?  Am I focused on the abundance of God's grace or caught up in what John Claypool often termed "the sidewise glance of envy" of the disciples?  The woman pours costly oil to anoint Jesus as an extravagant sign of her love.  The disciples object:  perhaps envious of the attention Jesus gives her?  perhaps an even baser envy that she anoints Jesus and not them?  Am I concentrating on the never-ending font of blessing God gives me, or living a life of misery and regret for that which others have?

·         Am I like Judas selling out?  What a contrast here.  The disciples, perhaps Judas leading the charge) have complained about the waste of money on the oil the woman uses to anoint Jesus.  Then he goes off and sells out for only 30 pieces of silver.  Jesus had said about the woman who anoints him, "Wherever this good news is proclaimed in the whole world, what she has done will be told in remembrance of her."  It strikes me that she has a five minute encounter with Jesus, and is remembered forever for her extravagant expression of love.  Judas has a three year history walking in the dust of the rabbi, yet is remembered most for his betrayal.

·         Am I like Peter?  Do my deeds match my words?  Peter proclaims his allegiance unto death, and a short time later he denies even knowing Jesus. 

My favorite definition of character is "who I am when nobody else is watching."  If we need specific instructions for building an internal house for God to dwell therein, perhaps I need to examine my character. 

The answer Jesus provides is that it isn't three chapters of instructions to build something externally.  By his words and example, and that of the few who remain faithful around him, he provides the answer:  build your character.  Match your words with your deeds. 
The Rev. Marty Zlatic, Rector
St. Joseph's Episcopal Church, Boynton Beach, FL



Brian Rowland
2/5/2013 07:14:05 am

As a teacher we instruct the students in my school that acting properly is doing the right thing especially when no one is watching you. An excellent summary of all the readings for the day. I do agree with your comparison of the woman and Judas as far as our evaluation of each and how they are perceived in today's ideals. Then again Benedict Arnold had to win us a battle in the Revolutionary War to make us a country before he could betray the colonies later.

Reply
Mary Naughton
2/7/2013 12:39:56 am

This blog sparked a profound and powerful conversation in my Bible Challenge group. Thank you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.