Picture
THE OTHER SIDE OF THE CLOUDS

Proverbs 7-9, Psalm 20, Ephesians 2

As I walk the beach at dawn before I begin my pastoral duties on the small tropical island of Mauritius, part of the Episcopal Province of the Indian Ocean, I look to the east and see a cloud bank which hovers over the Black River Gorge. I know it is raining in another part of the island, and yet I watch the sunrise without any cloud cover and enjoy the warm ocean breeze. I am thankful I live on the other side of the clouds.

Today’s readings remind me that we can live victorious, joy-filled Christian lives on the other side of the clouds.  God himself is our peace, in spite of the storm. We are reminded in Eph. 2 that we are made alive in Christ and are dead in our transgressions and sins. Now, as Christians made alive in Christ, we are raised up with Christ and seated with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, because it is by grace that we have been saved. It is the gift of God, not by works, but because of the Christ living in us. We are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. Praise be to the living God. We live on the other side of the clouds.

Peace is a by-product of humility. Humility is a by-product of living a wisdom-filled, life in Christ. Proverbs reminds us of the importance of living a life of wisdom. Wisdom and peace call us to value one another, to respect and care for one another. Wisdom and peace call us to laugh in spite of ourselves; urge us to be gentle with ourselves, gentle with others and gentle with the earth. Wisdom and peace remind us to keep a quiet heart, seeking God in the present moment. Wisdom and peace come from living a grace-filled life with Christ, on the other side of the clouds.


Rev. Wendy Tobias, St. Joe's Boynton Beach, FL
7/22/2013 10:33:12 pm

Wow, Patsy. Thank you for answering the question posed in The Bible Challenge today: What difference does being a Christian make to your life? To live on the other side of the clouds.... Warmed my heart this beautiful morning. Thank you!

Reply
Corinna Olson
7/23/2013 01:58:29 am

Thanks Patsy. Your words reminded me to still my heart and rejoice in God. I'm so glad that you are part of this project!

Reply
Ezekiel Orji
7/23/2013 06:35:02 am

Reply



Leave a Reply.