Picture
The Bible Challenge

Proverbs 10-12  Psalm 13  Ephesians 3

 

Prologue: Today’s reflection is being offered in the form of an open prayer to God. I hope this method is helpful as you discern God’s request for your total surrender to Him.

Dear God, I want Solomon’s wisdom! A part of me wants it because it inspires within me a great Truth for living a life wholly dedicated to You. However, Lord, a larger part of me desires Your wisdom because I am self-absorbed. It feeds my carnal desires for personal power, control, and strivings for success in spite of knowing these priorities cause conflicts within my self and with others.

Oh, if my heart could be like Solomon’s-humbled and surrendered to Your will and purpose for Your people. I am conflicted, Lord, for I am locked in spiritual warfare between the desire for Your wisdom and my self-interests. God, to whom shall I turn for help?

Yes, Lord, it is to Jesus and to Him alone!

Jesus, you know my needs and necessities even before I ask help me to ask only what accords with Your will. Please grant to your servant Wisdom. Let your Holy Spirit of Grace transform my heart that I may be totally dedicated to you.

To Paul, who once chose to conquer and divide for personal reward, You revealed your Grace to love, heal and build up your Church. You gave to him a transformation of heart. You empowered him with the will to selflessly serve only Your will and purposes despite the hostility and opposition of his own people. In the face of personal loss to self he boldly brought into your fold those who were previously labeled outcast.

Jesus, heal my heart from selfish pursuit that I too may perfectly desire Your Heart-Your Wisdom. Please let Your purpose become my purpose as I serve You. No longer let self-interests, desires for success, prejudices of race, gender or sexuality and other fears of my heart separate Your purpose for living. Give to me a humble and contrite heart that I may become a holy vessel like Solomon, Paul, and yes You, my Savior. Give to me the Grace to daily surrender all to You.

My daily mantra to you, Jesus: “Now to him who by the power at work within us is able to accomplish abundantly far more than all we can ask or imagine, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever.” Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21

The Reverend Bernard J. Pecaro

St. Martin, Pompano Beach





Leave a Reply.