Picture
Nehemiah 10-12, Psalm 140, I Corinthians 15

In the tenth chapter of the 1 Corinthians letter Paul continues to explain the benefits of the Law and how grace interacts with these benefits. "All things are lawful but all thing are not beneficial." is a good summary sentence for this Chapter and for all of 1 Corinthians. Paul brings us, and the Corinthians, back to what builds up.  He focuses on the parts of the Law that bring us closer to God.

I have a personal experience of the Law as grace that I would like to share with you. I was reminded of it when reading Nehemiah 10-12. These chapters from Nehemiah bring together for the first time all the Laws and rules about giving. They have been brought up before in our reading, but this is the first time they are all in one place.

As a young person in the church I thought the rules about giving and tithing just seemed mean. It was too much. In no way did I understand these demands of the first fruits as loving. They seemed to me like the rules of a mean teacher that did not understand. They seemed to me to be punitive and harsh. The idea of giving ten percent to God seemed excessive. Then the Law became grace to me through a trip to Ethiopia. I was very lucky and got to take a trip to see some ministries there and visit the church in Lalibela  (if you have never heard of these church they are worth googling. Each Church is made of one piece of rock). While I was their I learned that most Ethiopian children do not go to school because they cannot afford the $12 uniform and supply cost. I also learned that three dollars feeds a malnourished kid breakfast for a month. When I came home I was paralyzed with this knowledge. How could I buy a pack of highlighters for my work. That was a kid's breakfast. How could I go to the movies with my wife. That was a kid's schooling for the year. I was not able to function in the world with this knowledge. I got down on my knees and said "I cannot do this, I cannot give what you want me to give and function, I will never be able give enough. I just cannot do what you want me to do."  And then, what I heard from God was "I know, you will never be able to do enough. You will never be able to give enough. But if you tithe, I will know you are trying. If you tithe, I will cover the rest." In that moment the Law became grace for me. In that moment I was lifted from my paralysis. With this reflection I am not asking you to give more or even tithe. I am only hoping to illustrate that the Law can be, and is, grace.

Keep Reading!
Spencer


The Rev. Spencer B. Potter
St. Andrew's Episcopal Church

William Stomski
6/29/2013 11:48:18 am

Incredible testimony - thank you for sharing this Spencer. It is powerful.

Reply



Leave a Reply.