Picture
Wednesday,
November 27, 2013 or Day 325  
  Jonah 1,  Psalm 117, Matthew 19

  In the study  of Holy Scripture it can be very enlightening to study different translations  and particularly so when it comes to the Hebrew Scripture (aka Old Testament).  The Tanakh is known to be a translation of Hebrew Scripture “unsurpassed in  accuracy and clarity”. It is an original translation of the Hebrew Bible based  on the Masoretic – the traditional Hebrew – text. In The Episcopal Church the  New Revised Standard Version (NRSV) is the translation of the Bible we use. As  we hear the story of Jonah trying to flee from doing God’s will there’s a slight  difference in translation between these two versions of the Bible that I find  enlightening.

   At  the end of verse 3 in Chapter 1 of Jonah the NRSV says the reason for Jonah
  getting on that get-away  ship to  Tarshish was to get away from the presence of the Lord. The Tanakh  translates this same phrase as Jonah trying to get away from the serviceof [the Lord]. Well that got  me to wondering. The two translations may not be that different after all.  I wonder if any of us knew we were  really in the presence  of our Lord – I mean truly REALIZED it, if it might not be virtually  impossible for us NOT to serve our Creator God. When any of us know we are to do the right thing… to speak the  truth in love, to turn down money from dishonest sources, to give up unhealthy
  habits… we too might try to hide from the presence of God… from serving the
  Holy One. But there is no place we can go where God is not. If we try and run,
  try to hide, eventually, one way or another, we’ll be in the belly of a great
  fish. Stuck with no way to get out of the fix we’ve gotten ourselves into
  thinking we know better than God. And eventually, one way or another, we’ll
have the divine privilege, to turn to that same God no matter how hard that
might be. And if we do choose to turn, to repent, to finally listen to Wisdom,
we find God still there waiting… ready to guide us once more.  And
then, we can rejoice and proclaim with the psalmist,
Praise
the Lord, all you nations… the faithfulness of the Lord endures forever. Praise
the Lord.
 

  And Jesus  tells us, once again, “You want to have eternal life? Give me all of you.
Know that you are always in my presence. Be my light. Love God. Love your
neighbor as yourself. Be willing to be last and you will be first. Don’t run
from serving me. Don’t think I’m not always with you anyway. Trust me. Say Yes
to my way, my truth, my life in you and you in me. I will always be here. I will
always love you. I will wait as long as it takes.” 
  
Wendy  Tobias
 St.  Joseph’s, Boynton Beach


Marty Zlatic
11/27/2013 12:34:51 am

It is a pleasure to be with you in God's presence and service. Thanks, Marty

Reply
Maria
11/27/2013 07:30:53 pm

"...there is no place we can go where God is not."
The perfect mantra. Thank you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.