Picture
Recently, I learned a new term. FOMO. I heard it being said in conversation over dinner at the home of one of the families from the St. Simon’s congregation.



Oh mom,” one child said. “You have FOMO.”

FOMO?” Curiously, I asked their daughter. “What’s that?”

Fear OMissing Out.  

Heartily I laughed, knowing that I too suffer from family FOMO. When I see both my husband and daughter checked in on Skype, I wonder if they are talking to each other. I don’t want to miss out on the conversation. I want to be involved and engaged in all family matters, which is sometimes a great challenge when living or traveling in separate countries, and during holidays such as the Christmas season.

But Divine FOMO is a good spiritual aspect.  We need more FOMO in our walk with Christ.

Why do we fast? Why do we pray? Why do we go to Church? Why do we have so many Christmas services, programs and Nativity plays? Because it makes a difference in our walk with Christ. In a spiritual sense, we don’t want to miss out! It’s good to have Divine FOMO!

Divine FOMO breeds humility; realizing our own weakness and frailty, helps us to see what controls us; we get irritable and ugly and easily frustrated when fast and miss a meal. It helps us to say, “I am sorry. I was wrong. Please forgive me” to God. Divine FOMO helps us to not be judgmental to the hungry man in the Old Testament story when he sold his birthright for a simple bowl of stew.

Divine FOMO is what we experience as we pray as a church community. Together, we see God’s hand at work. When undergoing a crisis, we realize that Christ-is. Community offers to others the gift of song, a prayer when someone is too tired or broken to sing for themselves. It gives some the opportunity to rest awhile, allowing others to carry the load. It allows one to weep as another rises from the couch to get a box of tissues. 

Divine FOMO. The divine knowledge that God guides our path to His glory, giving us inexpressible joy. We don’t want to miss out!  We live with a wonderful expectation because Jesus Christ is born. This is divine FOMO! Trust in God as Mary and Joseph trusted the prophetic message from the Angel, singing Glory to God in the Highest and Peace to His People on Earth! Search for Christ as the Magi searched for the Newborn King. Divine FOMO. Don't miss out on what God has prepared in advance for His Children who seek Him. Trust, search and rejoice in the Reason of the season!





Leave a Reply.